Diocese Of Great Britain, Ireland and Scandinavia

The diocese to which Lazarica belongs consists of seven countries: the UK, Ireland, Sweden, Denmark, Norway, Finland and Iceland. This diocese was founded in December 1990 from the former Western Europe diocese.

The UK is split into several parishes consisting of London, Birmingham, Oxford, Halifax, Bedford, Bradford, Derby and Leicester and finally the missionary parish of St Nicholas in Telford.

The bishop of this diocese is his Grace, Dositej.

Bishop Dositej

Bishop Dositej was born on October 14, 1949 in the village of Zagoni near Sarajevo. After completing his primary education in Thessalonica, he studied at the monastic school at the Monastery of Ostrog before entering the seminary in Karlovci. He continued his education at the Theological Faculty of the University of Belgrade.

After his graduation in 1980, he continued his graduate studies for three years at Regensburg, Germany and Bern, Switzerland. He was tonsured a monk in 1970 and subsequently was ordained to the Holy Orders.

As a parish priest Bishop Dositej served from 1985 to 1988 in Argentina with the missionary diocese of the Church of Serbia and later as Secretary of the Diocesan Board in Toronto, Canada.

On May 22, 1990, Bishop Dositej was consecrated to the episcopate, and, in December 1990, he was appointed the first bishop of the new Serbian Diocese of Great Britain and Scandinavia. Bishop Dositej is also fluent in German and Spanish.